​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ Organisation Image


  • Organization Overview

    The Department of Posts comes under the Ministry of Communications. The Postal Service Board, the apex management body of the Department, comprises the Chairman and six Members. The six members of the Board hold portfolios of Personnel, Operations, Technology, Postal Life Insurance,Banking & DBT and Planning respectively. The Additional Secretary and Financial Advisor to the Department is a permanent invitee to the Board. The Board is assisted by a senior staff officer of the Directorate as Secretary to the Board. Deputy Directors General, Directors and Assistant Directors General provide the necessary functional support for the Board at the Headquarters.

  • Governance System

    For providing postal services, the whole country has been divided into 23 postal circles. Each Circle is co-terminus with a State except for Gujarat Circle (which also administers the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli), Kerala Circle (which includes the Union Territory of Lakshadweep) , Maharashtra Circle (which has within its jurisdiction the State of Goa), North East Circle (which comprises six North Eastern States - Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland & Tripura), Punjab Circle (which has within its administrative jurisdiction, the Union Territory of Chandigarh), Tamil Nadu Circle (which also administers the Union Territory of Pondicherry) and West Bengal Circle (which also administers the state of Sikkim and the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands) . Each of these Circles is headed by a Chief Postmaster General. Each Circle is further divided into Regions comprising field units, called Divisions (Postal / RMS Divisions). Each Region is headed by a Postmaster General. In the Circles and Regions there are other functional units like Circle Stamp Depots, Postal Stores Depots and Mail Motor Service etc. Besides these 23 Circles, there is another Circle, called Base Circle, to cater to the postal communication needs of the Armed Forces. The Base Circle is headed by an Additional Director General, Army Postal Service in the rank of a Major General. The officer cadre of the Army Postal Service comprises officers on deputation from the Civil Posts. Seventy five percent of the other ranks of the Army Postal Service are also drawn from the Department of Posts and the remaining personnel are recruited by the Army.

  • Postal Services Board

  • Shri Vineet Pandey, Secretary, Department of Posts & Chairperson, Postal Services Board
  • Ms Smita Kumar, Director General Postal Service​​

  • ​​​​​ ​​​​ ​ 
  • Ms Aindri Anurag​, Member (Operations)
  • Shri Sanjay SharanMember (Technology)
  • Ms. Smita Kumar, Additional Director General (Coordination)
  • Ms Manju Pandey,​ Member (Personnel)
  • Ms. Vandita Kaul, Member (Banking & DBT)​​
  • Shri Abhinav Walia​, Member (Planning & HRD)
  • Ms Meera Ranjan Tshering​​​, ​Member (PLI) & Chairman, PLI Investment Board
  • Organizational Structure

    Organizational Structure Image
  • Department Of Posts-Functional Units

    Organizational Structure Image